Bitcoin bank accounts launch in 31 European countries

by Osiris Team

Posted on Sept. 2, 2019, 2:30 p.m.
Development Regulatory
Time to read: 2 min

Residents of Europe can now use their smartphones to open a German bank account with an integrated Bitcoin wallet, thanks to a new app from the German blockchain company Bitwala.

Bitwala announced the roll-out on Thursday, saying “customers in all 31 countries of the European Economic Area can access the benefits of a German bank account” with the ability to buy and sell Bitcoin. Bitwala charges a 1% fee on trading but offers their accounts and debit cards for free. Lost cards can be directly canceled on the app, according to the company.

Says Benjamin Jones, co-founder and chief technical officer of Bitwala,

“Our developers have been working hard for months to provide our users with the best app experience possible. We are particularly proud to have reduced the onboarding time for new customers. Onboarding is now directly integrated into the app. Once you have an account, you can seamlessly integrate your daily banking activities – whether in bitcoin or Euro – into your everyday life.”

Bitwala’s accounts are hosted by Berlin-based fintech company solarisBank which has a German banking license and is supervised by the Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (BaFin).

The app is emphasizing security, according to Christoph Iwaniez, chief financial officer at Bitwala.

“With Bitwala your bitcoin are booked directly on the blockchain via a multi-signature wallet. This is another way of saying that hacking Bitwala is as useless as breaking the blockchain itself and that our customers are fully in control of their Bitcoin wallets at all times. Therefore, we are the safest way to buy, sell, and store bitcoin – now even on your smartphone.”

EEA countries where Bitwala customers can launch Bitcoin banking are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and the United Kingdom.

Related links:
Like and comment it on:

More cryptocurrency news

Latest news

Coinbase Card rolls out DAI as first supported stablecoin

Coinbase Card, a crypto-powered Visa debit card from major crypto exchange Coinbase, now supports Dai, a stablecoin pegged to the United States dollar.


Dec. 6, 2019, 6:36 p.m.

Microsoft teams up with Enjin to offer crypto collectible rewards

Do good work, earn a "badger" - that's the idea behind a new incentive launched by Microsoft and blockchain gaming project Enjin.


Dec. 5, 2019, 2:36 p.m.

Cointelegraph launches Consulting division to drive enterprise blockchain adoption

Cointelegraph has announced the launch of its Cointelegraph Consulting division, which is focused on advancing enterprise blockchain adoption by helping companies understand the potential of blockchain and then matching them with enterprise vendors to implement solutions.

Adoption Development

Dec. 4, 2019, 2:20 p.m.

China’s Great Firewall has blocked access to Ethereum block explorer

China's Great Firewall, used by the government to regulate access to foreign internet sites, has blocked one of the most popular sources of Ethereum blockchain data.

Development Regulatory

Dec. 3, 2019, 5:51 p.m.

Stellar’s Foundation just destroyed half the supply of its Lumens cryptocurrency

The Stellar Development Foundation has burned 55 billion of its XLM tokens, over half the cryptocurrency’s supply, CEO Denelle Dixon announced from the stage of the Stellar Meridian conference Monday.

Alerts Development

Nov. 6, 2019, 10:09 a.m.

Follow us